A Recommended Reading List (2016)

I am occasionally asked for book recommendations, which I LOVE doing although I am always baffled to be asked. I prefer to tailor recommendations toward the asker (if I know of two or three books or authors previously liked, I feel much better pulling recs from my “library”, so to speak), but I’m also happy to do a “best of the best according to Faith”, and so here is such a list for books I read in 2016*.

*Not books published in 2016 (necessarily), just books that I read during that calendar year. These come from my “best of 2016” Goodreads shelf, from which I pulled my real, absolute favorites.

On the more intense side:

The Fifth Season, N.K. Jemisin
Ninefox Gambit, Yoon Ha Lee
The Traitor Baru Cormorant, Seth Dickinson

The Fifth Season is a mind-blowing, paradigm-shifting book. Ninefox Gambit is not for the faint of heart, but rewarding for those who like a challenge (and can tolerate a bit of bloodshed). The Traitor Baru Cormorant absolutely positively wrecked me. It’s not a nice book, but it’s powerful.

On the quieter side:

Uprooted, Naomi Novik
The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Becky Chambers
Witches of Lychford, Paul Cornell
Roses and Rot, Kat Howard
Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire

Uprooted is a beautiful fairy tale and features a wonderful female protagonist and a central female friendship. The Long Way... charmed me with its characters even if it has no (or very little) plot. Witches of Lychford (note: a novella) features small-town England, a vicar, women, magic. It’s very “Midsomer Murders” meets Fantasy, and I love it. Roses and Rot has ballet and writing and sisters and friends and art and romance and the Fae and it’s great. Every Heart a Doorway (also a novella) is what happens after the children in portal fantasies return home, and I cannot be in any way unbiased about it because it is the book of my heart.

File under just plain fun:

Stiletto, Daniel O’Malley
Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo
Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho
Ghost Talkers, Mary Robinette Kowal

Stiletto is O’Malley’s follow up to the also-excellent The Rook. It’s MI6 for Weird Things, and so many women! Silly and LOTS of fun. Excuse the info dumps. Six of Crows is a heist book with a rich ensemble cast and an intriguing magic system and a hint of Russian flavor. It’s YA, but it’s good YA. Sorcerer to the Crown is magic in Regency England (I am just realizing that I read a lot of books set in England last year…) but much lighter in tone than, say, Jonathan Strange. Ghost Talkers is a lovely WWI-plus-ghosts historical fantasy mystery.

Full reviews for all (I think?) of these books are available at my Goodreads page.

Now You

What’s the best book you read in 2016?

2 thoughts on “A Recommended Reading List (2016)

  1. I second the recommendations for Uprooted and The Long Way tasap (and share your assessment)

    Unfortunately, I didn’t keep very good track of my books last year but I have to add Ilona Andrews’ Inkeeper Chronicles to the list. And all things T. Kingfisher. (for reasons)

    Like

    • I liked the Inkeeper Chronicles. And T. Kingfisher is always lovely, though there are a whole bunch that I haven’t read because they’re ebook only/self pubbed/not available from the library 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

