Hugo Thoughts

I would have had to be living under a rock to avoid the fracas surrounding last year’s Hugo Awards. I read a lot of author blogs, and follow a lot of writers on Twitter, and let me tell you the anthill was SEETHING when the nominations were announced.

I’m not going to publicly stick my oar in on one side or the other (although I’ll talk about it privately, I suppose, if anyone cares)…but one good thing that came out of the mess is that it got a lot of people talking about the Hugos.

Including me.

I mean, I’d known about them before, but I’d never really thought to participate. But after reading all the thinkpieces and overhearing all the arguments I thought I should do my part to make SFF the environment I’d like to see. Which includes reading widely, and rewarding the works and creators I feel are making significant contributions.

Not A Ballot

This isn’t a slate, nor it is necessarily the ballot I will cast for nominations. It’s…a list of things I am considering, which might be of interest to other consumers-of-SFF. And, of course, suggestions are always welcome.

I’ll go through by category and list some of the works I might consider nominating in each.

Novel

A Darker Shade of Magic, V.E. Schwab

The Just City, Jo Walton

Karen Memory, Elizabeth Bear

Short Story

The Tomato Thief, Ursula Vernon

Dramatic Presentation – Long Form

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

Ex Machina

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Dramatic Presentation – Short Form

There are a couple of Penny Dreadful episodes that stand out in my mind; otherwise I haven’t been watching much SFF TV lately. (I liked both Killjoys and Dark Matter a lot, but I’m not sure either of them have a single episode strong enough for a Hugo nom)

Professional Artist

I’ve seen work I liked from Theo Prins, Richard Anderson, and Christian McGrath this year.

Other Categories

There are many, and I have basically no idea what I’d nominate for any of them. Suggestions extra welcome!

Your Turn

Anyone else planning to nominate or vote for the Hugos? Any good suggestions for me?

Leave a Reply

