The State of the Union

It’s a new year, and that means it’s time to take stock of all the writing projects I still haven’t finished…or in some cases, haven’t started.

Novels

Princess: I’ve been letting this one sit for too long; time to get back on the horse. I’m about 18k words in (I think?) and I’m rethinking some of my outline. The goal is to finish this one this year.

Untitled Miri/Oren: I keep thinking about these two. They need their own novel…I’m just not sure what it would be, yet.

Salvage: SF/Space Opera about the crew of the salvage ship Lady Luck. Vaguely Firefly-flavored. There’s a couple of handwritten pages (good pages – I like them. A lot.) and some extra scribbled bits of dialogue. Next step: outline.

Lioness: I’m not sure where I’m going with this one. The original plan looks more and more cliched each time I look at it. There are elements that I’d like to keep, but it needs to be entirely rethought. On hold for the forseeable future.

Short Stories

Untitled Miri/Oren: I started this for a writing contest. Didn’t end up submitting, because exams/holidays happened and I felt too rushed completing it by the deadline. I didn’t want to submit sub-par work. It’s plotted, and about 1.5 pages are written. I still plan on finishing it, and it’s high on the schedule.

Spiderwebs: I don’t know what the problem is with this one…it’s plotted…my original outline was written in a notebook I can’t find now, but I remember it well enough. I just have to keep pushing myself on this one, too. In fact, I’m going to push myself to finish it in the next week.

No One Came Back: Honestly, I’m not even sure what to do with this one. I wrote it in response to a prompt (I sort of joined a new writing group – Saucy Ink is my one true love, but it’s quiet around there these days), so it’s actually completed.  But I’m unhappy with the ending. I’m not going to post it to the blog yet, if ever, but interested readers can contact me directly if they want to see it. (And critique it, even. Please. Tear it apart.)

Serials

Bell, Book and Candle: I’ve got no plan, and no idea what I’m doing, and no idea of where I’m going, and what is Urban Fantasy. I know I want it to involve ghosts (gotta brush up on my research there) and deal with questioning religion/religous identity/faith (holy moly how do I write that). So…that’s where that’s headed. If any of you have any bright ideas or want to brainstorm plot points, hit me up. This can very much be a crowd-sourced project. (Three’s a crowd, right? Three’s definitely a crowd.)

Bits and Bobs 

I’ve got the barest hints of ideas floating around for at least two more novels (something involving the Wild West and/or dinosaurs; a steampunk adventure novel based on a setting I developed for Storium and sort of abandoned) and one short story (about a law firm specializing in prophetic injury malpractice suits), but right now they’re not much more than seeds. I’ll let them rattle around a little longer and see what happens.

Now You

What are you working on in the new year? Doesn’t have to be writing — share your goals and projects and resolutions.

Alternatively, I’d love to get some feedback on my mess of projects. What sounds most interesting to you? What should I work on next? (Spiderwebs is up first, and Princess will be going for most of the year, but I wouldn’t mind having another project to noodle on when I need a break). Are dinosaur-riding US Marshals carving out order in the Wild, Wild West a really terrible idea? (Please say no).

Inquiring minds want to know.

6 thoughts on “The State of the Union

  1. Somehow I missed this post! I’d also be happy to talk about faith, religion, and life. But if you asked me for someone to talk to on this subject, my very first response would have been Ted!

    You know how to get in touch with me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

